Oral History in Museums

For my first essay I plan to look at the usage of Oral History in museums. My interest in this topic comes from the many ways of displaying Oral History in a museum and the impact this may have on the listener. Do you present Oral History as just audio coming from audio stations setup around the museum? Do you compile a video to go along with the auditory portion? Or do you include subtitles or transcriptions to provide the listener the information? Each of these presentations have benefits and drawbacks and as a presenter you must choose the one that will present the interview in the correct sense. You must be wary of how each of these presentation methods may change the way a listener will receive the message given. These are the major impacts I wish to explore. I hope that through my further exploration of these topics I will further understand my knowledge of the impact of displaying Oral History will have on a museum visitor.

One Comment on “Oral History in Museums”

  1. Graham Smith says:

    It is always good to add tags and categories to posts and I’ve added a few to your post. Interesting idea for the essay if you keep to the focus.


Leave a Reply

