Hopes and Concerns + Planning

Hopefully this one goes through so you can see it, first off.. But getting past that. I am hoping the interview provides me with clarity about how the Welsh language is used in Welsh education and culture. More specifically, I am hoping that Dr. Colin Williams will be able to illuminate how Welsh political/social policy impacts the implementation of the Welsh language to ensure a kind of thriving and distinct Welsh character or identity. Because he resides in Cardiff, the capital of Wales and one of its largest cities, I am hoping that that will mean he is involved with many more people so perhaps his writings and work will have a greater impact on the area compared to if I were in, say, Gwynedd. One of my concerns though coalesces with the hope. Because he is based in Cardiff, Cardiff is one of the more British-ized areas of Wales as opposed to Gwynedd. So if it turns out that he himself is from Cardiff on not a more “Welsh” area of Wales, that might hurt the personal narrative a bit, but not too bad, I reckon. I also have to make sure I don’t get repetitive or sound too nationalistic. Whether he is or not, I am not sure, but I have to not try to steer him, because I believe very strongly that more Celtic areas of Britain should retain that character. Otherwise, I think everything should be alright. I am really looking forward to it.

Unfortunately when it comes to the essay, my presentation focuses on Oral History and Economics, but I reckon it would be best to build off certain sections of my presentation than to start on a new idea entirely. I also want to do that anyway, simply because the idea of oral history benefitting or having opportunities within economics seems like a really interesting field (not to mention, financially lucrative? We all want money). Moreover, I expect it to be closely related to the business side, but not entirely since it focuses on the social sciences specifically. Most of the articles or sites I find about oral history and economics involve talking with or about specific economists, rather than the economy as such, so I am not sure if that counts or if that would be good or not. Regardless, because I never really put oral history and economics into the same bed together, it should be interesting to see how one affects the other. I also enjoy the social sciences anyway, so however oral history provides benefits (or drawbacks? In certain narratives, I reckon) to the field of economics will be very interesting indeed.

Obviously I ended up changing my mind to Orality Cultures and Orality because I got confused on what my presentation was about. But once you went over it in class the direction I could go in with Orality cultures and how they relate to public history and the ethical challenges associated with it, I thought that was pretty interesting. I also think it will be good to discuss the West vs. other world views and how they might not necessarily be in conflict with one other and where they differ at the same time, so as to get the most accurate picture possible about literate and non-literate cultures. It would be beneficial to public history to see these various aspects of orality cultures since it’s not very well known I don’t think as of right now. Technological factors playing into how we disseminate orality history will also be of great interest, so I look forward to writing about it.

One Comment on “Hopes and Concerns + Planning”

  1. Graham Smith says:

    By economics, I guess you mean you’ll be covering business history? Although an oral history of economists would be possible. Two things to keep in mind you will need to think about history. The second is that the overall orientation should be towards public history.


Leave a Reply

